Jonny Bramley, Nev Appleton, Nic Brook and Dylan Dronfield look certain to be in this year’s PGS team for our match against the French in Bordeaux in October.

Click here to see the Wryter Cup standings after Ashridge

The Wryter Cup between the PGS and our French counterparts in the Association Presse du Golf began in 1991, largely through the efforts of former PGS secretaries Ian Doran and Jeremy Chapman.

The match is 16 a side. The PGS team is made up of the captain; the secretary; the Emsley Carr matchplay winner and runner-up; two wildcards, picked by the captain; and the top 10 on the qualifying list.

The list is compiled by adding together each golfer’s best three finishing places in the qualifying events. The first qualifying event is the September meeting of the previous year; the last is Captain’s Day. This makes eight events in total.

The Past Captains day does not count, nor does the Scramble.

Click on a match below to see the full results, pictures and some reports. If there is no link it’s because we have no more information than the final score!

2005 – PGS (20-12) Deal
2004 – PGS (18-14) Kingsbarns
2003 – PGS (19-13) Hardelot
2002 – APG (17-15) Biarritz
2001 – APG (91/2-61/2) MATCH SHORTENED Dale Hill
2000 – APG (181/2-131/2) Bordeaux
1999 – PGS (171/2-141/2) Chart Hills
1998 – PGS (171/ -141/2) Hardelot
1997 – PGS (18-14) East Sussex
1996 – APG (17-15) Hardelot
1995 – PGS (181/2-131/2) London GC
1994 – APG (191/2-121/2) Hardelot
1993 – PGS (19-13) Wentworth
1992 – PGS (121/2-111/2) Hardelot
1991 – APG (20-12) Hardelot