A Tale of Brooks, Heath and Woods

Nic ‘Brooky’ Brook was the only player to manage, if not to exactly tame the Heath, then to come away with honours even, as he played to his handicap and scored 36 points, something no one else came close to doing, despite Walton being at its glorious best on a gorgeous golfing day. Brooky took the honours on President’s Day in Div1, followed home by Mark Lomas with 33 points and Dean Scoggins (32). Ian Woods headed up Division Two with 31 points.

During the afternoon Foursomes, scoring proved equally difficult. Khalid Javed’s and Christian Fraser’s 32 points were enough to land first prize on a hot and humid day. They were followed into the winner’s enclosure by last year’s overall singles’ winner, Nev Appleton, who was partnered with Daryl Selby (31), beating Rob Hewer and Tim Allan on count back.

Again the day was sponsored by our President, Philippa Kennedy, who travelled from Cork for the event.

The players in bold won the Reg Hinder Memorial Trophy, which was presented at President’s Day from 1998. Click here to see the pre-1998 winners.

2022 – Nic Brook D1, Ian Woods D2
2021 – Andrew Porter D1, Nev Appleton D2
2020 – Lee Smith (No President’s Day due to Covid)
2019 – Jim Murray D1, Jeff Randall D2
2018 – Rob Hewer D1, Adam Hunt D2
2017 – Brent Dornford D1, Chris Cutmore D2
2016 – Rob Hewer D1, Paul Trow D2
2015 – Hayley Barlow D1, Jono Baker D2
2014 – Mark Lomas D1, Khalid Javed D2
2013 – Laura Cork D1, Chris Murphy D2
2012 – Jonny Bramley D1, Paul Sherwood D2
2011 – Phil Leach D1, Ian Doran D2
2010 – Hugh Whittow D1, Rick Evans D2
2009 – Nick Cherrie D1, Ian Woods D2
2008 – Paolo Minoli D1, Tom Crone D2
2007 – Hayley Barlow D1, Bob Hayes D2
2006 – Chris Murray D1, Thierry Bollack D2
2005 – Hayley BarlowH D1, Ian Doran D2
2004 – Kevin Price D1, Chester Stern D2
2003 – Tom Clarke D1, Philippa Kennedy D2

2002 – Keith Ging D1, Geoff Wheeler D2
2001 – Hayley Barlow D1, Rick Evans D2
2000 – Hayley Barlow D1, Paul Carter D2
1999 – Chris Stevens D1, Steve McKenlay D2
**1998 – Kevin Price D1, Rick Evans D2
1997 – Stan Kelley D1, Vyvyan Harmsworth D2
1996 – Bryan Nickless*
1995 – Phil Hall*
1994 – Patrick Eagar*
1993 – A Hendry*
1992 – B Maclagan D1, Geoff Wheeler D2
1991 – Stan Kelley D1, David Emery D2
1990 – Patrick Eagar D1, J Grant D2
1989 – J Margetts D1, Patrick Eagar D2
1988 – P Inglis D1, Norman Dixon D2
1987 – Peter Dazeley D1, D Woodward D2
1986 – Peter Dazeley D1, Jeremy Chapman D2
1985 – Vic Woodman D1, B Martin D2
1984 – Paul Trow D1 J Margetts D2

**Reg Hinder Trophy only awarded at President’s Day from 1998
*No divisions operated